ESTA Europe

The feeling of insecurity in Europe has recently pushed MEPs from the European Parliament’s Civil Liberties Committee to adopt a new control of travelers. Long desired by Germany and France, these new measures are directly inspired by the US ESTA and the Canadian ESTA .


ETIAS: the European ESTA

The EU Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) is a new travel requirement that will be mandatory from the year 2020 onwards. ESTA image for the United States, ETIAS is not a visa but a travel authorization procedure to move freely in the Schengen Area. We find similarities between the two:

The slight differences are:


European ESTA: for whom?

ETIAS is intended for nationals of countries that do not need to obtain a visa to travel in the Schengen Area, this includes the following countries:

AlbaniaAndorraAntigua and BarbudaArgentinaAustralia
BahamasBarbadosBosnia and HerzegovinaBrazilBrunei
CanadaChileColombiaCosta RicaDominica
SalvadorGrenadeGuatemalaHondurasHong Kong
IsraelJapanKiribatiSouth KoreaMacao
MacedoniaMalaysiaMarshall IslandsMauritiusMexico
MicronesiaMoldovaMontenegroNew ZealandNicaragua
PalauPanamaParaguayPeruSaint Kitts and Nevis
St. LuciaSaint Vincent and the GrenadinesSamoaSerbiaSeychelles
SingaporeSolomon IslandsTaiwanEast TimorTonga
Trinidad and TobagoTuvaluEnglandUruguayVanuatu

The ESTA in its European version will therefore require travelers to declare their stay to the European authorities if they wish to enter through one of the following Schengen Area countries:

SwissCzech republic